Mind the Gap

Today we’re going to talk about another issue that is very near and dear to me: eyebrows. Anyone who knows me understands how seriously I take this matter. Bad eyebrows are an ailment that has plagued the nation, and has left me raising my own wondering what the hell is wrong with people.  I believe that many do not realize just how much their eyebrows contribute to the structure of their face, so I’m here to discuss what can and should be done to get the most out of one’s brows.

Now, before we begin, I should warn you that there are pictures of me in this post during my morning routine! So, please, bear with me as I bring you through this tutorial!

Step 1: Brow length

This does not mean the length of your brow hairs! This means the length of the brow itself. However, for the former, I would recommend keeping your brow hair at a reasonable length, as it would just be straight up weird to want long eyebrows. To maintain the length of the hair of your eyebrows I would recommend seeing your hairstylist. Hairstylists generally offer this service to men when they get their hair done (as men’s faces are naturally hairier than women, meaning that most women will not require this form of maintenance).

For the length of your eyebrows, it is a general rule of thumb that the beginning of your eyebrow should line up with the outside of your nose, like so:

IMG_2712

The highest point of your eyebrow should line up with the outer edge of your iris:

IMG_2713

And, your eyebrow should end at the point where there is a straight line between the side of your nose and the corner of your eye:

IMG_2714

This makes your eyebrow’s length and curve the most natural to your face. If your eyebrows begin or end at different places, you might just end up being the face of a really bad internet meme.

Fun fact: the gap between your eyebrows is known as the glabella!

Step 2: Brow shape

The shape of your brows largely depends on the amount of hair you have and the style you’re going for. There are curved brows, natural brows, straight brows, tadpole brows… the list goes on and on. To get the shape that you want – as well as the one that is best suited for you – do the right thing and go to a professional. There are so many options for brow shaping: waxing, tweezing, threading, and sugaring, just to name a few. Your esthetician will be more than happy to work with you to create your desired brows. However, just be sure to be specific with what you what. I, personally, prefer a thicker brow, but love to have a defined shape. When I go to get my brows waxed, I simply just ask for the thickness to stay the same, and that I just need a clean up. However, depending on what you’d like, you may need to offer more direction.

Brow shape chart. Photo credit: http://www.seoulbrow.com/2013/02/15/how-to-choose-your-eyebrow-shape-correctly-when-getting-ready-for-threading/

Brow shape chart. Photo credit.

Step 3: Brow thickness

Much like the shape of your brows, the thickness of your brows greatly depends on your face shape, amount of hair, and desired style. I have discussed this with my friends many times: I would look funny with their thin brows, or they would look like Groucho Marx if they were to have bold, thick brows like mine. There are a lot of contributing factors, and it may take some time to figure out what looks best on you. Although, I would definitely advise that, if you have naturally thick brows and are interested in having them be thinner, do so gradually as your new look may not be what you hoped it to be. 

Groucho Marx. Photo credit: http://www.pastemagazine.com/articles/2012/09/groucho-marxs-hilarious-letter-of-apology-to-woody.html

Groucho Marx. Photo credit.

Step 4: Brow colour

I believe that it is fair to say that most people opt for a brow colour that is similar, if not the same, to their hair colour. It looks the most natural and won’t be as flashy as other options. I’m all for this as I enjoy having the furniture match the drapes (for you sick pervs out there, please note that by “furniture” I mean eyebrows, and by “drapes” I mean the terminal hair on your head). Many blonde haired people prefer a darker eyebrow (so it actually looks like they have eyebrows), and some very dark haired people like the look of a light eyebrow (so it’s not so dark and bold on their face). My eyebrows are naturally a very light colour – lighter than my natural hair colour, so I have always coloured them in. Many salons also offer brow tinting, which is basically a less intense hair dye that is safer to use around your eyes; however, I’ve seen many men get their eyebrows dyed along with their terminal hair.

 

Step 5: Special Considerations

Brows are a very personal thing. The method of maintenance can vary greatly from person to person, and it may take some time to figure out what works best for you. I know that I cannot wax between my eyebrows because I will get acne breakouts, but all other areas of my brows can be waxed problem-free. Another lady I know can only wax her eyebrows – or anything, for that matter – every so often because her hair follicles bleed! Other circumstances could also be allergies to the wax or other products used during the service, the amount of ingrown hairs one may get, and the hair type of the brows (curly, straight, coarse, thin, etc.). You know yourself better than anyone, but you have to build a good relationship with your eyebrows in order to be happy with them!

Fill ‘Em In

So now that we’ve discussed how to create the perfect brow for your face, I’m just going to quickly discuss what I do to fill in mine (since my eyebrows will probably be my one and only legacy).

Products:

I prefer to use a powder or clay product with an angled brush as opposed to eyebrow pencils. By clay, I mean that there was a product I used by tarte cosmetics that I absolutely love – the Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse – that gives a great, even colour, and tames stray hairs right down. Plus, it lasts throughout the whole day and the product itself will also last you a long time.

Choose your weapon.

Choose your weapon.

I recently dyed my hair to a colour darker than I’ve ever had before, so I decided to just purchase an eye shadow to fill in my brows (just in case I didn’t like how dark my hair was and spent big bucks on a professional product). The colour I currently use is NYX cosmetics eye shadow in Charcoal Brown.

After applying my toner, moisturizer, concealer, and foundation, I start by using a brush to clean up my eyebrows, which usually look disastrous after a good night’s sleep. I then begin by creating my starting line where we discussed earlier:

IMG_2715IMG_2719

I continue by drawing in the top of my eyebrow to the arch, which I then continue to my endpoint:

IMG_2720

I then return to my starting point and draw my bottom line to meet up with my top endpoint:

IMG_2721

At this time, I make sure my lines are clean and crisp by using a makeup sponge to wipe up any excess or smudged powder:

IMG_2724

Next, depending on the day and how I feel, I use either the same angled brush or one with a rounded tip to fill in the colour:

IMG_2725IMG_2726

In order to give my brows a more natural, less harsh colour, I take a different brush to brush out some of the concentration of the colour. I use a different brush because I like to keep my first brush completely clean, so as to avoid getting colour everywhere when I give my brows their initial brushing:

IMG_2728IMG_2729

I then use my sponge once more just to ensure that everything is clean and the way I want it to be. You can also use a wax or gel in order to keep the hair in place:

IMG_2730

All done (: once you know how your brows work, it will take no time at all. This whole process takes me two minutes, tops.

IMG_0722

Congratulations, you’re now well on your way to having beautiful, breathtaking brows. Good luck! (:

– Nicole, “raising the brows” (instead of bar, get it? Awkward.)

 “Don’t let anyone with bad eyebrows tell you shit about life”

5 thoughts on “Mind the Gap

      • This might be a bit of a weird question, but I’ve always wondered it. What does “on point” mean? It’s when a girl’s eyebrows look good, right? But why is it called that?

      • Haha, well I don’t think the term “on point” is limited to eyebrows actually! According to urban dictionary, “on point” means:

        On Point
        1.) On top of things, in control of the situation

        2.) Incredibly good-looking

        “She ran exactly on schedule… she’s on point.”
        “Holy SHIT he’s on point! Look at that ass!”

  1. Pingback: 5 Pieces of Makeup I Can’t Live Without | Pretty & Professional

Leave a Reply

